PPM Documentation – DOs/DON’Ts once a Project is Active

Hi All –

I’m trying to find some documentation regarding what should be avoided once a Project state is changed to Active.

It has always been my understanding, for example that – even though the application allows it (and it seems bad practice in the first place) – a project shouldn’t be moved back and forth between Proposed and Active once it has been published.  I am looking for something solid to relay this info to the business other than “It just causes problems”.   

Another example – I have noticed that deleting a particular activity while a project is Active seems to return some Averify errors (AGIL-00105028 : E : TEAM : […] (Team ID: XXX points to an invalid Activity) and eventually starts to create issues for users (unable to open project in Gantt chart, unable to add/edit dependencies, etc.) , but I’m finding it difficult to explain WHY this is happening or even confirm that the deletions are the actual cause instead of something else.

These are just a couple of examples, but there doesn’t seem to be any warning or mention of these sorts of things in the documentation (that I could find) and I’m just trying to find out if there is some type of support note or anything I can refer to in order to get a better understanding of how to help the users prevent Project errors in the future.

Even any personal experience/resolutions would be helpful if there isn’t anything official on this

Thanks!

No Files Were Attached
Add Comment
1 Answer(s)

Danny, any luck?  Post any resolution or artifact you can point to for reference.

Patrick Lawrence Agile Angel Answered on November 16, 2017.
Add Comment

Your Answer

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.